Banner image by Mike116

Banner image by Mike116

Author Topic: Absolute Newb Question!  (Read 13960 times)

Offline Fingers McGee

• Branson State Match, 2009
    • View Profile
    • Central Ozarks Western Shooters
Re: Absolute Newb Question!
« Reply #15 on: January 01, 2016, 09:50:55 AM »
Here are my two Ubertis, fully fluted with iron backstraps and triggerguards.

Kevin

I still hate you Kevin.    ;)
Fingers (Show Me MO smoke) McGee - AKA Man of Many Colts; SASS 28564-L-TG, rangemaster and stage writer extraordinaire; Frontiersman/Pistoleer, NRA Endowment Life, Central Ozarks Western Shooters
Cynic: A blackguard whose faulty vision sees things as they are, not as they should be.  Ambrose Bierce

Offline mike116

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • LeathersmithMike.net
« Reply #16 on: January 01, 2016, 10:37:36 AM »
OK,  that does it.  Now I gotta find me an 1861.   Been listening to Scooby, Strawhat, and Fingers, preach the virtues of the '61 long enough.   After looking at these photos I figure it's time to see for myself.

Offline ssb73q

• Gunsmoke junkie
    • View Profile
« Reply #17 on: January 01, 2016, 12:18:29 PM »
Hi Mike, IMO the Pietta 1862 will get you what you want.

Regards,
Richard
There’s nothing better in the morning than the smell of bacon and black powder smoke!

Offline StrawHat

• View Profile
« Reply #18 on: January 01, 2016, 01:13:36 PM »
I just did a quick check of the web and an 1861, new, will be in the mid $300 range.  Your best bet might be Gunbroker or similar.

Kevin
Knowledge carried to the grave unshared, is wasted.

www.NoonSharpening.com

Offline sourdough

• 1851 Navy Parts Changer
    • View Profile
« Reply #19 on: January 01, 2016, 01:18:50 PM »
Well, I like the balance of the fairly muzzle-heavy 1851 (in my case, Pietta) rather than the 1861 Navy. I like a muzzle-heavy feel to modern cartridge revolvers as well.