Banner image by Mike116

Banner image by Mike116

Author Topic: Just Stopped By...  (Read 4690 times)

Offline HighWall

• View Profile
Just Stopped By...
« on: October 07, 2013, 10:56:47 AM »
I've been collecting cap & ball replicas for 20 years, yet I'd never actually shot one until this last summer when I added a Uberti 2nd Model Dragoon to the herd.  That was so much fun, I've added an 1858 Remington and 1860 Army, both Pietta.  I find the designs very elegant and comfortable to work with and they all have provided a bit of opportunity for amateur gunsmithing.  What's not to like? 

I'm getting up the fortitude to put a dovetail front sight onto a .36 Sheriff's model I've had forever.  It shoots tight groups but about 8" high at 15 yards.  I've been looking quite a bit for the right sight and have discovered the Starr front sight sold by Dixie and think it will be just perfect.  Just waiting for the time to introduce it to Mr. Milling Machine...

Offline mike116

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • LeathersmithMike.net
Re: Just Stopped By...
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2013, 11:15:35 AM »
Hi HighWall,  welcome to the Colt side.    How did you have BP guns around for 20 years without loading one up and emptying it out just once?  My first one only lasted a couple weeks before I fired it.  I don't have any that I don't shoot. Maybe I'm just not collector minded enough.

Offline HighWall

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2013, 11:56:10 AM »
Hi HighWall,  welcome to the Colt side.    How did you have BP guns around for 20 years without loading one up and emptying it out just once?  My first one only lasted a couple weeks before I fired it.  I don't have any that I don't shoot. Maybe I'm just not collector minded enough.