Banner image by Mike116

Banner image by Mike116

Author Topic: Arbor Envy. Or "How to fix your short arbor"  (Read 9611 times)

Offline ShotgunDave

• Gun Geezer
  • Administrator
  • Black Powder Aficionado
    • View Profile
Re: Arbor Envy. Or "How to fix your short arbor"
« Reply #15 on: January 06, 2020, 09:48:18 AM »
Me too Capt. I'd like to see Richard's way of doing it as well as Mazo's. Or if anyone else has their own way, I'd love to see that too.

There's always more than one way to skin a cat. Maybe some guys are afraid to use a torch, or maybe some are afraid to take a drill to their gun. It's always good to have options.
"Never trust an actor with a gun."
-Abe Lincoln

Offline DragoonRick

• View Profile
« Reply #16 on: July 28, 2023, 08:08:50 AM »
  I have no experience with the arbor issue until I’ve learned about it on this forum.  I have two #2 ASM dragoon revolvers I decided to check the arbor length.  The arbor length is 1/4 inch +. Less than the depth of the arbor hole. Shims might not fix this but soldering a steel or brass spacer on the arbor might work.  Two other ideas I’ve had are to 1. To drop a piece of oak dowel in the arbor hole to wedge against the arbor when the gun is assembled. And 2. Drop few turns of heavy coil spring in th arbor hole for the arbor to push against. 

Thanks for reading .  I’ll continue to read instructions and advise here.
Dragoon Rick.

Offline Marshal Will

• Global Moderator
  • Smile, it makes people wonder what you're up to.
    • View Profile
« Reply #17 on: July 28, 2023, 10:43:29 AM »
Outstanding tutorial, Dave. This method is what I use (because you described your method to me). The only difference is I like aircraft AN washers rather than cutting a shim and trying to get it right. The solder will flow up the center of a washer nicely. I always start a little thicker washer than needed and dress it down with sandpaper to the correct amount after it's attached.