Banner image by Mike116

Banner image by Mike116

Author Topic: Original 1860 army  (Read 3015 times)

Offline Navy Six

• View Profile
Re: Original 1860 army
« Reply #15 on: April 20, 2023, 08:32:20 AM »
Zulch, I've yet to make up my mind. If I have to replace any parts I will charge him for that at least. Last year he gave me a 1st gen SAA with a dangerous trigger pull of well under a pound and pleaded with me to look at it. I spent a week on that gun carefully re-cutting the full cock notch and changing the contact point on the trigger sear. The hammer cam was chewed up a bit and most of the internals needed polishing to clean things up. I provided him with a long written list of everything I found for his future reference as this was an original Colt. When I returned the gun to him it was kind of no big deal and no offer was made. I make no claims to being a gunsmith but I have been working on Single Actions for more than 40 years as a labor of love. I never charge my friends as I am happy to help out if I can, but I don't like being played. I don't want to sound like sour grapes so I will have to wait a couple more weeks till I see him at the next Cowboy Match to see what happens.
Only Blackpowder is interesting.
"I'm the richest man in the world. I have a good wife, a good dog and a good sixgun". Charles A "Skeeter" Skelton

Offline Zulch

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
« Reply #16 on: April 20, 2023, 09:59:17 AM »