Banner image by Mike116

Banner image by Mike116

Author Topic: What did you do today  (Read 353687 times)

Offline Rebel Dave

• View Profile
Re: What did you do today?
« Reply #900 on: April 02, 2020, 12:43:24 PM »
Miner
 A few yrs ago, I went thru my house, and pulled all the receptacles, and switches, to check all the terminals for loose screws.
Lots of them were loose. They get loose from every day use.
You might want to do that on yours.
Loose wires can cause  fires.
Just a thought.  I am not an electrician.

Dave 
Rebel Dave

Offline Len

• View Profile
« Reply #901 on: April 02, 2020, 12:58:37 PM »
One thing to look out for, is copper wire ends that are tin soldered in order to keep the strands together. When screwed into sockets they always get a lose connection that might cause sparks.

Offline Electric Miner

• View Profile
« Reply #902 on: April 02, 2020, 01:21:07 PM »
Miner
 A few yrs ago, I went thru my house, and pulled all the receptacles, and switches, to check all the terminals for loose screws.
Lots of them were loose. They get loose from every day use.
You might want to do that on yours.
Loose wires can cause  fires.
Just a thought.  I am not an electrician.

Dave

I am actually an electrician. All switches and outlets are on the list for replacement this spring, depending on how all the garbage plays out. In fact, that is what I was started on when I found this.

Offline mazo kid

• View Profile
« Reply #903 on: April 02, 2020, 04:49:20 PM »