Banner image by Mike116

Banner image by Mike116

Author Topic: First trip to range tomorrow hopefully  (Read 5842 times)

Offline AR. Hillbilly

• View Profile
First trip to range tomorrow hopefully
« on: October 10, 2021, 04:24:05 AM »
First post outside of my introduction.
I’m a beginner with zero BP pistol experience.
Recently purchased a used pietta brass er 44.
I’ve read a lot.  If I can gather the remains of my needs at local LGS I would pan to shoot after work tomorrow.
I taken this thing apart for cleaning a couple times to get a feel for it and see what I’m up against before I have to clean it from shooting.
I squirted gun scrubber through the nipples. That’s when I noticed 2 nipples have a bigger opening than the 4 others.
I don’t know what’s up with that. Don’t know which ones are best??? Looking for advice.
Also if given a choice should I get 451 or 454 balls?

Offline Hawg

• Now you went and done it!!!
    • View Profile
Re: First trip to range tomorrow hopefully
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2021, 04:41:38 AM »
.454 balls and don't go over 20 grains of powder in that brass frame or it will eventually beat itself to death.
Do not meddle in the affairs of dragons, for thou art crunchy and tasteth good with ketchup.

Offline Zulch

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2021, 05:21:44 AM »
AR Hillbilly,