Banner image by Mike116

Banner image by Mike116

Author Topic: Conversion Cylinders  (Read 7311 times)

Offline Bishop Creek

• View Profile
Re: Conversion Cylinders
« Reply #30 on: December 24, 2023, 08:18:33 AM »
I have a pair of Remington conversions that I have been shooting for 22 years now. Both are drop in cylinders. The top one is one of the first Kirst .45 cylinders on the market and the one below is an early Howell R & D .38 cylinder with the barrel lined to .357. I have fired hundreds of rounds out of both of them over the years, both smokeless "Cowboy" loads and my own black powder reloads with absolutely no problems.
My biggest concern is that when I pass away, my wife will sell my guns for what I told her I paid for them.

Offline Zulch

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
« Reply #31 on: December 24, 2023, 08:37:32 AM »
Those are very nice Bishop Creek! Thanks for the picture. When approximately, did you get those early conversion cylinders? Just curious as to when they came on the market. Thanks again Z

Offline Bishop Creek

• View Profile
« Reply #32 on: December 24, 2023, 09:54:17 AM »
I bought the Kirst .45 cylinder in early 2001 and the R&D .38 in 2003. I emailed a picture of the .45 cylinder to Walt Kirst a couple of years ago, and he told me that it was among the first batch of cylinders that he made circa 1999 or 2000. My .44  Pietta Remington was made in 1999 and the Kirst cylinder works perfectly in it, but the timing is way off when I try inserting it into my newer 1858 Remington's.
« Last Edit: December 24, 2023, 10:01:05 AM by Bishop Creek »
My biggest concern is that when I pass away, my wife will sell my guns for what I told her I paid for them.

Offline Captainkirk

• Administrator Extraordinaire and Part-Time Gunslinger
  • Administrator
  • "Never said I didn't know how to use it" M.Quigley
    • View Profile
« Reply #33 on: December 24, 2023, 10:16:44 AM »